Self Awareness / Yoga

Shari’s Yoga Safari – Post#1

Pre-Safari thoughts:

I’m going to New York! I wanted to shout it to the world! I was sooooo excited!

I’m not really sure how it came about. One minute I was considering a zen retreat in bushland New South Wales and the next minute I had booked a return ticket for one to NYC!

I found, while searching online, two back-to-back Yoga Teacher Trainings with Cyndi Lee of Yoga Body, Buddha Mind fame. Since reading her book I’ve been curious about the fusion of Yoga and Buddhism so apparently I decided that it was time to see how it looked for someone else.

When I first booked the trip it was about 8 weeks prior to the departure which turned out to be a great balance between not too far off and time to plan properly.

I had the sense that this was going to be a big, significant trip for me. It felt like the beginning of something new and great! I wanted to experience different types of yoga, different approaches, to see how others were ‘doing it’. I wanted my yoga thrown in the air, stirred around and then come home to sit quietly to see where things landed. I wanted inspiration, I wanted to know where I stood, I wanted to be challenged. I wanted to be anonymous, to be no-one and nothing in particular.

Over the weeks leading up to the trip Shari’s Yoga Safari started taking shape. I booked into a few classes I knew I wanted to take for sure. I booked private sessions with Leslie Kaminoff and I started making a timetable of classes that seemed interesting or had been recommend to me and made a map of studios that were within walking distance from my hotel (which I made sure was within walking distance of the studios I was most interested in).

I increased my own practice for the month before the trip so I knew that my body was up for at least 2 classes a day for the 10 days I would be in NY. I ate well, rested and took a multitude of supplements in an effort to be as strong and healthy as I possibly could be before I went.

I wasn’t completely sure what I was looking for but I had a very strong feeling I was going to find something!

balance sunset2

Leave a Reply

