Buddhism / Poetry

zen retreat poetry

I

I began to understand.

Things fell into place,

All around me,

Like raindrops on a field of tall dry grass.

I began to see.

The work of sitting has just begun,

And now to sit,

Like a raindrop falling into the ocean.

Moving into stillness.

Opening into expansiveness.

Filling with emptiness.

I dissolve.

II

Tell me your story,

I will listen.

With an open mind, and a boundless heart,

I hear you.

Share your tears with me,

I will hold them.

As deep and inescapable as your suffering is,

I contain you.

Show me your smile,

I will reflect it.

This mind and body are inseparable,

We are one.

Leave a Reply

